International Summer School – Rethinking the Culture of Tolerance, Sarajevo, 16-22 September 2019

The International Summer School ‘Rethinking the Culture of Tolerance’ is a joint program of the University of Milano-Bicocca, the University of Sarajevo, and the University of East Sarajevo.  

The sixth edition of the Summer School in 2019, titled “European Integration after the Fall of the Berlin Wall”, dedicated to the thirtieth anniversary of the revolutionary year 1989, will be hosted by the University of Sarajevo and its Center for Interdisciplinary Studies. It will examine problems and contradictions faced by the evolving European societies, with a focus on the post-communist countries involved in the process of EU integrations over the past three decades. It marks the conclusion of the second three-year cycle of the School, previous editions being devoted to “Europe, Borders and Migrations” (University of East Sarajevo, 2017) and “Groups, Conflicts, and Reconciliation” (University of Milano-Bicocca, 2018).

The fall of the Berlin wall has been celebrated as a milestone in the advancement of human freedom. But, it also gave rise to new concerns and issues regarding  institutional  and  political  practices,  as  well  as  the  everyday  life  of citizens, within the frame of an emerging European space. The remembrance of its legacy is of crucial importance today: while the ‘Iron Curtain’ has lost both its material and symbolic power, new political, social and economic cleavages and conflicts have emerged across European societies, bringing new challenges to the project of the European integration.

The School is open to the European and international MA and Ph.D. students, post-docs and researchers. MA and Ph.D. students from the universities of Bosnia and Herzegovina, and of Italy, are particularly welcome to apply.

Deadline for applications: 10 June 2019


Period:  16-22th September 2019.

PlaceUniversity of Sarajevo, Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Zmaja od Bosne 7,  Sarajevo, BiH. Two days of the School will be organized by the University of East Sarajevo, and by the Universities of Mostar and Mostar “Džemal Bijedić”, respectively.

Travel and accommodationParticipants are expected to cover their travel and accommodation expenses by themselves. The list of accommodation options will be provided to the selected participants in July 2019. The Summer School will offer a welcome kit and arrange an aperitif, five-days catering lunch and a social dinner for all participants.

Lectures: Participants will take part in 26 hours of lectures and 14 hours of seminars and panel discussions.

Certificate and EvaluationThe Summer School awards 2 or 4 ECTS:

  • A certificate of attendance carrying 2 ECTS will be provided to all participants who fulfill the basic requirements of the Summer School.
  • All participants will be invited to write a final paper, with the assistance of a supervisor, to be delivered by 15th December 2019. The Scientific committee approves the topics and the supervisors evaluate the papers. Additional 2 ECTS will be awarded following the paper evaluation.


Target audience: The School is open to the European and international MA and PhD students, post-docs and researchers. MA and PhD students from the universities of Bosnia and Herzegovina, and of Italy, are particularly welcome to apply.

Number of Participants35 (15 from Bosnia and Herzegovina and other ‘Western Balkan’ countries, 10 from Italy, 10 from other parts of Europe and the world).

Language: The language of the Summer School is English. No language certificate is required for the application.

Fee: Participation in the sixth edition of the Summer School will be free of any charge for citizens of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Macedonia, Kosovo and Albania. All other participants will pay a tuition fee of 250,00 Euros. The fee has to be paid by the 20th July 2019 following the procedure available at:

Please be sure to indicate the right code of the Summer School: TOLERANCE.


All interested candidates should apply online by following the link: 

APPLY BY 10 JUNE 2019 

All candidates are required to attach the following documents to the online application form:

  1. CV
  2. Copy of Passport/ID or any other valid Identity Document
  3. Short essay / motivation letter (300 words) answering the question: Why do you want to attend the School?

The list of the participants selected by the Scientific Committee will be published on 20th June 2019 on the website of the Summer School.

To find out more download the brochure:  

Call 2019_Summer School Tolerance 

School 2019 Info Sheet

or write to us at: 

The Summer School is organized by the

University of Milano-Bicocca, University of Sarajevo and University of East Sarajevo

Under the Patronage of the

Rectorate of the University of Milano-Bicocca

Embassy of the Republic of Italy in Sarajevo, B&H

In cooperation with the

Department of Social and Political Sciences, University of Milano

University of Mostar and University of Mostar “Džemal Bijedić”

In collaboration with the Research Centers Etnicos, Diaforà and Pragsia

Department of Sociology and Social Research, University of Milano-Bicocca


Directors of the Summer School

Tatjana Sekulić (University of Milano-Bicocca)

Jasna Bakšić-Muftić (University of Sarajevo)

Dejan Bokonjić (University of East Sarajevo)


Members of the Scientific Committee and lecturers

University of Milano-Bicocca: Marina Calloni, Ilenya Camozzi, Elena Dell’Agnese, Carmen Leccardi, Marcello Maneri, Roberta Marzorati, Roberto Moscati, Fabio Quassoli.

University of East Sarajevo: Darko Đogo, Goran Marković, Zlatiborka Popov-Momčinović.

University of Sarajevo: Dino Abazović, Melika Husić-Mehmedović, Mirjana Mavrak, Asim Mujkić, Valida Repovac-Nikšić, Ugo Vlaisavljević.


Other Academic institutions: Abdalhadi Alijla (IMESC Canada), Roberta Altin (University of Trieste), Gorazd Andrejč (University of Maribor), Antonella Besussi (University of Milano), Enzo Colombo (University of Milano), Anna Elisabetta Galeotti (University of Eastern Piedmont), Mariachiara Giorda (University of RomaTre), Milena Karapetrović (University of Banja Luka), Nikolina Obradović (University of Mostar), Giovanni Picker (University of Glasgow), Maja Popovac (University of Mostar “Džemal Bijedić”), Paolo Segatti (University of Milano), Lino Veljak (University of Zagreb), Dragica Vujadinović (University of Belgrade), Pavel Zgaga (University of Ljubljana).